> Business & Management

This book covers business research topics that combine theory and practice. It discusses the fundamentals of research and details of the whole research process, from formulating research questions, acquiring skills for collecting qualitative and quantitative data to analyzing data and compiling research reports.

This manual offers updates on the Hong Kong Companies Ordinance and explains company secretarial practice, legal frameworks and compliance requirements in a concise manner. It also provides procedural checklists and guides to administrative documents and forms to supplement the explanation.

Written by experts in the field, this book serves as a reference for readers to examine local company laws and legal precedents, review and analyze recent court cases as well as clarify concepts related to the formation of companies, corporate organs, board of directors, equity and debt financing, and liquidation.

 

This book explains the principles and practices of Hong Kong taxation laws for Profits Tax, Salaries Tax, Property Tax, Personal Assessment and Stamp Duty. It also covers court cases, Board of Review decisions and relevant topics such as the development of Hong Kong taxation system and the international aspects of Hong Kong taxation.

 

This book discusses in detail the essential elements of managing and organizing businesses, such as business strategies, organizational structure, operations control, human resources management and marketing plans. It also includes themes related to information technology for business, the role of banking and business ethics.

This book includes the latest coverage of IFRS in financial instruments, leases and revenue from contracts with customers. It also provides real-life cases, useful points and tips, and training exercises for practicing accountants in preparing financial reports.

This book covers financial management concepts, knowledge and skills in understanding financial statements and cash flow as well as topics of long-term financing and short-term financial planning. There is also a chapter on the international aspects of financial management, such as foreign exchange markets and exchange rate risk.

This book explores the concepts and models of corporate governance, the functions of the board, roles played by major stakeholders, corporate regulations and risk control strategies. It also offers case studies on international corporations such as Alphabet Inc., Huawei Group and Jardine Matheson Group to explain corporate governance practices.

This book explains the four major elements of management: planning, organizing, leading and controlling. Relevant themes such as organizational goals and culture, decision making and implementation, human resources planning and leadership theories are discussed in detail with case applications provided at the end of each chapter.

This book introduces marketing principles and strategies that help companies build customer value and positive customer relationships. It also suggests how companies can manage and analyze marketing information and research data to gain customer insights and promote products and services through social media and mobile marketing.

This book highlights important issues in the current human resources (HR) practices and discusses how an HR professional can design and implement HR policies to effectively manage HR resources. There are also case studies on multinational corporations such as Addias and Amazon.

Harvard Business Review

Published by Harvard Business Publishing, this magazine covers featured stories and articles about business and management issues around the world. It provides analyses of management problems in global business enterprises and commentaries on various advanced managerial and administrative practices in an increasingly digital world.

Fortune Magazine

This magazine publishes articles and commentaries on the latest events and development in the areas of finance, technology and politics that affect the global business environment.

MIT Sloan Management Review

Published by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, this magazine provides up-to-date business information in the form of articles, featured stories and special reports. Topics include digital management trend, leadership quality and employer-employee relations.

Academy of Management Review

Published quarterly by the Academy of Management in the US, this journal contains peer-reviewed articles mainly about reviews, applications and critiques on management and organizational theories as well as other studies based on these theories.

The Journal of the Hong Kong Institute of Chartered Secretaries

Published monthly by the Hong Kong Institute of Chartered Secretaries, this journal consists of articles about corporate governance and secretarial practices in Hong Kong and Mainland China. It also covers featured stories of recent global business events.