 |
Call no.: HV11 .M59 2020 |
| ISBN: 9780826172839 Publication Year: 2020 Book |
|
|
This book serves as a tool for human service practitioners to develop logic-based research skills for conducting research-informed practices to improve client outcomes. Ethical issues in social research, problem formulation, levels of measurement and data analysis are discussed in great detail. |
|
|
Hilton, T. P., Fawson, P. R., Sullivan, T. J., & DeJong, C. R. (2020). Applied social research: A tool for the human services (10th ed.). Springer.
|
 |
Call no.: HV11 .S77 2015 |
| ISBN: 9781138910829 Publication Year: 2015 Book |
|
|
This handbook is a concise guide for social work students and beginning practitioners to conduct research on social work issues. It covers design types, sampling strategies, methods of collecting and analyzing data as well as compilation of evidence-based reports using appropriate data. |
|
|
Steinberg, D. M. (2015). The social work student's research handbook (2nd ed.). Routledge.
|
 |
Call no.: H62 .S4776 2018 |
| ISBN: 9780190614249 Publication Year: 2018 Book |
|
|
This book explains the contexts and approaches of research in the field of Social Sciences. It discusses in detail the whole research process from elements of research design, methods of data collection, processing and analysis to the skills of writing research reports. |
|
|
Singleton Jr., R. A., & Straits, B. C. (2018). Approaches to social research (6th ed.). Oxford University Press.
|
 |
Call no.: H61 .B698 2022 |
| ISBN: 9780190853662 Publication Year: 2022 Book |
|
|
This book provides an in-depth account of research process in social sciences from formulating questions, choosing research methods, selecting participants, analyzing data to disseminating research findings. There is also a significant emphasis on research ethics and the importance of it. |
|
|
Bryman, A., Bell, E., Reck, J., & Fields, J. (2022). Social research methods. Oxford University Press.
|
 |
Call no.: HV45 .H26 2017 |
| ISBN: 9781462530588 Publication Year: 2017 Book |
|
|
This handbook addresses the theory and practice of social work with groups in areas such as ageing, mental health, substance abuse, child welfare and family violence. Major models of group work, the skills and values required to lead a working group, and the evaluation of group work practice are discussed. |
|
|
Garvin, C. D., Gutierrez, L. M., & Galinsky, M. J. (Eds.). (2017). Handbook of social work with groups (2nd ed.). The Guildford Press.
|
 |
Call no.: 361.303 BARK 2014 |
| ISBN: 9780871014474 Publication Year: 2014 Book |
|
|
This dictionary offers definitions of up to thousand terms related to social work in alphabetical order. It also provides a chronological list of historical events regarding the development of social work and social welfare for users' reference. |
|
|
Barker, R. L. (2014). The social work dictionary (6th ed.). NASW Press.
|
|
|
|
Call No.: HV40 .K465 2018 ISBN: 9781305966864 Publication Year: 2018 Book |
|
|
This book introduces the generalist intervention model in social work, which encompasses the knowledge, values and skills required to work with individuals, families, groups and organizations. Key elements of generalist practice including assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation are explored. |
|
|
Kirst-Ashman, K. K., & Hull, Jr., G. H. (2018). Understanding generalist practice (8th ed.). Cengage Learning.
|
 |
Call no.: HV45 .T68 2022 |
| ISBN: 9781292352091 Publication Year: 2022 Book |
|
|
This book provides a comprehensive account on group work practice at micro, meso and macro levels. The discussion includes evidence-based practices with task and treatment groups, skills in dealing with resistant and reluctant group members, and issues about group leadership and diversity. |
|
|
Toseland, R. W., & Rivas, R. F. (2022). An introduction to group work practice (9th ed.). Pearson Education.
|
 |
|
Call No.: BF637.C6 C67 2024 ISBN: 9780357764473 Publication Year: 2024 Book |
|
|
This book introduces major counselling theories, such as existential therapy, person-centered therapy, psychoanalytic therapy and postmodern approaches, and explains how they can be applied effectively to professional practices in various settings. |
|
|
Corey, G. (2024). Theory and practice of counseling and psychotherapy (11th ed.). Cengage Learning.
|
 |
Call no.: HV40 .G75 2019 |
| ISBN: 9780190916510 Publication Year: 2019 Book |
|
|
This book introduces a systematic framework to evaluate the design, implementation and feasibility of service programmes from an evidence-based approach. Problem analysis and needs assessment are discussed, which are critical to the formulation of programme goals and intervention strategies. |
|
|
Grinnell, R. M., Gabor, P. A., & Unrau, Y. A. (2019). Program evaluation for social workers: Foundations of evidence-based programs (8th ed.). Oxford University Press.
|
 |
Call no.: HV11 .R67 2018 |
| ISBN: 9781478635291 Publication Year: 2018 Book |
|
|
This book provides instructions and skills necessary for social work students to resolve problems with clients in their fieldwork placement. It explores a host of topics, such as ways of integrating classroom knowledge and field instructions, evidence-based practices, legal and ethical concerns as well as risk assessments. |
|
|
Royse, D., Dhooper, S. S., & Badger, K. (2018). Field instruction: A guide for social work students (7th ed.). Waveland Press.
|
 |
|
Call no.: HQ1061 .H533 2015 ISBN: 9781305176935 Publication Year: 2015 Book |
|
|
This book focuses on the interdisciplinary study of gerontology and covers a wide range of topics including the physical well-being of the elderly, social and psychological issues in later life development and the issue of death and dying. Also, programmes and activities related to caregiving and elderly issues are introduced. |
|
|
Hillier, S. M., & Barrow, G. M. (2015). Aging, the individual, and society (10th ed.). Cengage Learning.
|
 |
Call no.: RC488.5 .N53 2021 |
| ISBN: 9780135843062 Publication Year: 2021 Book |
|
|
This book explores the current practice and the latest development of family therapy approaches, with an emphasis on the clinical aspect that includes observations of actual sessions with counsellors and case studies of prominent family therapists. |
|
|
Nichols, M. P., & Davis, S. D. (2021). Family therapy: Concepts and methods (12th ed.). Pearson Education.
|
|
|
Call no.: HV40 .S463 1994 |
| ISBN: 9789622016347 Publication Year: 1994 Book |
|
|
本書介紹社區工作的基本概念，諸如定義、目標、價值觀及原則，同時亦詳述不同的實踐方法，包括社會策劃、社會行動、教育和宣傳等。本書亦有文章探討社會工作者所面對的挑戰。 |
|
|
甘炳光等（主編）（1994）。《社區工作：理論與實踐》。中文大學出版社。
|
 |
The British Journal of Social Work |
ISSN: 0045-3102 (Print); 1468-263X (Electronic) eJournal |
|
|
|
|
 |
The Hong Kong Journal of Social Work |
ISSN: 0219-2462 (Print); 2424-7731 (Electronic) Journal |
|
|
|
|
 |
Journal of the Society for Social Work and Research |
ISSN: 2334-2315 (Print); 1948-822X (Electronic) eJournal |
|
|
|
|
 |
Human Service Organizations: Management, Leadership & Governance |
ISSN: 2330-3131 (Print); 2330-314X (Electronic) eJournal |
|
|
|
|
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
Academic Search Ultimate is a multi-disciplinary research database that provides more than 12,000 full-text periodicals, among which 10,600 are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to academic journals and magazines, it also includes current videos from Associated Press, books, reports, conference papers and government documents that can meet the needs of scholars in nearly every academic discipline.
- Ebook Central Academic Complete
Academic Complete ebook collection provides comprehensive access to over 200,000 titles in multi-disciplinary subject topics, including Business Management, Computer Sciences, Humanities and Languages, Medicine and Nursing, Social Sciences as well as Psychology.
- APA PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
PsycARTICLES is a psychology research database that provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
- Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
- Social Science Research Network elibrary Database (SSRN e-library)
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is an open-access repository devoted to the rapid dissemination of scholarly research in the area of Social Sciences. It comprises over 770,000 full-text and 900,000 abstracts of Social Sciences journal articles, written by more than 440,000 authors.
- Sociology Source Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
Sociology Source Ultimate provides over 2,200 full-text publications for students studying aspects of sociology. Coverage of topics ranges from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
- JSTOR
JSTOR provides more than 70,000 titles of e-books and 2,600 scholarly journals across all disciplines, including humanities, business, social sciences, and medicine and allied health.
- OECD iLibrary
Managed by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), it provides more than 20,000 full-text publications and resources including e-books, journals, podcasts, statistics and reports on a wide variety of economic and social topics around the globe.
- 華藝線上圖書館 Airiti Library Chinese Electronic Periodical Services - Social Sciences
The Chinese Electronic Periodical Services (CEPS) - Social Sciences Collection provided through Airiti Library, offers access to over 2,000 full-text journals published in both Mainland and Taiwan. Its coverage spans across various subjects in social sciences, including sociology, education, law, politics, psychology and beyond.
- Chinamaxx Digital Libraries 中文集献
It is a vast collection of about 705,000 Chinese e-book titles in a wide range of subjects, such as history, literature, social sciences, economy, art, religion, medicine and health.
The webpage provides a wide range of resources published by the Hong Kong Council of Social Service. These include research reports, anniversary recommendation proposals and position papers.
The website provides information about the social services sector in Hong Kong. This includes core welfare services, social security schemes and relevant legislations. The sections of NGO Corner, Publications & Press Releases, and Download Area offer relevant documents and statistics for viewers’ reference.
The website consists of information about elderly care and the related conferences and training workshops held by the Hong Kong Association of Gerontology. It also provides detailed accreditation information for residential care services for the elderly and conference materials for free download.
The website contains current and back issues of Youth Hong Kong, an online quarterly journal of the Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups. It discusses all matters related to youth development, such as future skills, leadership, creativity, technology and innovation.
The website introduces mental health education and counselling services provided by the local association. It also offers seminars, training courses and publications related to Mental Health First Aid and mental illnesses, such as dementia and depression.
| A | C | D |
| E | G | I |
| M | P | S |
| U | ||
| Subject Area | Subclass |
| Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology |
HV1 - 9960 |
| Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology – Social service. Social work. Charity organization and practice |
HV40 - 69 |
| Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Crimonology – Protection, assistance and relief |
HV697 - 4959 |
| Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology – Protection, assistance and relief – Special classes – Families. Mothers. Widow's pensions |
HV697 - 700.7 |
| Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology – Protection, assistance and relief – Special classes – Young adults. Youth. Teenagers |
HV1421 - 1441 |
| Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology – Protection, assistance and relief – Special classes – Aged |
HV1450 - 1494 |
| Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology – Protection, assistance and relief – Special classes – People with disabilities including blind, deaf, people with physical and mental disabilities |
HV1551 - 3024 |
| Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology – Protection, assistance and relief – Drug habits. Drug abuse |
HV5800 - 5840 |
| The Family. Marriage. Women – The family. Marriage. Home – Aged. Gerontology (Social aspects). Retirement |
HQ1060 - 1064 |
